Lasagna Sandwich 2.0

(Thanks to Tesco/NYDN for the image...)

Last week, a lasagna sandwich in the U.K. made headlines here in the U.S. And it got me thinking…what other main course meals would make good — or at least potentially lucrative — sandwiches?

I personally think you can’t do much wrong when you add stuff to grilled cheese or a panini…so, with that in mind, if the Tesco food development team is looking for additional entree-inspired sandwiches, I’d suggest…

– The Taco Sandwich: Some seasoned beef or chicken, pico de gallo…maybe a little guacamole and/or sour cream…and some melted cheese? A worthy experiment. (Although maybe this is actually a burrito?)

– The Meatloaf Sandwich: A slice of Mom’s meatloaf and a scoop of mashed potatoes. And, again, grill that sucker with some cheese. (And maybe have ketchup on the side for dipping?)

– The Fried Chicken Sandwich: Lest this sound like the KFC Double Down, I’d like to point out that I’m thinking of this more like Thanksgiving leftovers. I love making turkey sandwiches the next day with a little mashed potato, stuffing, gravy and cranberry sauce. I’m sort of thinking of that chicken-mashed-potato-corn-bowl-thing KFC put out awhile back — something with all of those components, but in a grilled cheese sandwich. Although, then again, you might be able to get away without cheese on this one.

– The Mac-and-Cheese-and-Bacon Sandwich: When I think of basic meals and/or entrees for those first starting out cooking for themselves, macaroni and cheese is one of the first that comes to mind. But a macaroni and cheese sandwich is weird. But then I thought, “Bacon!” and it suddenly made more sense. Sure, it’s a lot of carbs…but if you grill it up or put it in a panini press and get the inside all gooey and stuff, I think it might be worth the splurge and/or less odd. (Then again, bread and pasta may just not work together…but, then again [again], if people fry spaghetti, why can’t I pair macaroni and cheese with bread?)

– The Steak and Chimichurri Sandwich: Perhaps like a Philly cheesesteak, but with an Argentinian twist?

– The Chicken Tikka Sandwich: Like Indian takeout, but between two slices of bread. (I guess I could perhaps suggest using naan, but I’m not sure how well that would grill up.) Perhaps a dab of yogurt on top and that potato-pea-chickpea mixture that comes in samosas, too?

– The Fried Halibut Sandwich: I discovered fried halibut at the Alaska Salmon Bake in Fairbanks and was completely amazed by it. I’d always been ho-hum about fish and chips, but fried halibut is crazy-good. I think if you have some cole slaw and a little tartar sauce, you’d be all set.

So, Tesco, let’s talk? I’d love an excuse to finally come back to the U.K…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

