Ode to Big J on her 30th Birthday…

Oh, my oldest childhood friend who in junior high dubbed herself Big J; (…which my mother swore you’d regret someday…)

We’ve known each other since the third grade; and lost a plate in the oven once while Bagel Bites were being made.

You’ve been my beloved Valentine since we lost your boyfriend in Chinatown; and you’re the only other person I know who loves trying on tacky gowns.

We wrote about apes and monkeys in our sixth grade class; and you bumped a straw up my nose that same year while we were making masks.

You introduced me to the Irish Rovers and wonders of the Emerald Isle; and I will forever associate shelled reptiles with you, my little turtlephile.

We found maggots in Mississippi in a box of muffin mix; and you totally got me out of my comfort zone in a Costa Rican jungle while getting your ziplining fix.

No one appreciates James Joyce and/or Ulysses as much as you, Big J…; and so best wishes for the happiest birthday ever today!

Leave a comment

Filed under birthdays, Mississippi

Leave a Reply

