Fifty Minus Two Equals…Well-Fed Tech Girls?

So…I checked out a Wii event a few months back and one of the organizers kept introducing me as the chick with the cupcake blog. This, of course, spurred everyone to say, “Oh! Are you with Cupcakes Take the Cake?” and I’d have to explain that, no, I don’t write for Cupcakes Take the Cake…and that my blog maybe started out as a pie blog, but it’s really just a mishmash now.

But…wouldn’t you know that the cupcake intro apparently resonated with one of the guests…as I got an email a few days ago asking if I’d bake cupcakes for a Girls In Tech event during AdWeek. They want 50…which, admittedly, is a lot of cupcakes for (little?) me to crank out. But, at the same time, I’ve been complaining forever about not having enough to do…so yesterday I finally agreed to it. However, it seems a lot easier to just do four dozen, so I asked if I could get away with baking 48. And I think this means I have to invest in a serious cupcake carrier.

I’m not sure what *kind* to make though. I feel like I’ve made so many red velvet cupcakes that I am actually blue in the face (note: color juxtaposition purposeful). And I feel like my red velvet always turns out kind of dry. (Aww…remember when I contemplated making blue velvet in order to get rid of all my food coloring?) And — not that I don’t love Girls in Tech, but — I’d like to do this as economically as possible. (The cupcake carriers alone mean I’m spending $40 before I even have any baked goods to transport.) Thoughts?

And, what’s more, the event is on September 22…which is just four days shy of 12 months ’til 30. I still feel like there has to be some sort of fun baking/blogging project I can do to commemorate the last year of my twenties. So…suggestions welcome. (If it nets me a book deal, you officially become my muse.)

1 Comment

Filed under birthdays, blogs, cupcake, gadgets, parties

One response to “Fifty Minus Two Equals…Well-Fed Tech Girls?

  1. Inspired by Julie/Julia?
    I hope you come up with some good cupcake types to bake. Why not just vanilla, chocolate, and carrot cake?

Leave a Reply

