Lacy Nut Brittle

When I saw the recipe for Lacy Nut Cookies on Martha’s Web site, I knew I couldn’t *not* make them this holiday season.

(I especially enjoy the bit that says to “bake until golden brown and lacy” though for whatever reason, I am tempted to say, “Gordon Brown and Lacy.” Perhaps because I have names on the brain?)

These cookies are remarkably easy…though I was surprised they called for confectioners’ sugar instead of granulated. I also thought the measurements were kind of weird – always calling for X cups plus a fraction. This created a really dense log – one that kind of resembled nougat when all was said and done. (Fun fact: I got to use the paddle attachment on my mixer for what I believe was the first time.)

It says to refrigerate for “at least 30 minutes” so I took the liberty of letting them stay overnight as I had sugar cookie dough that was also in need of refrigeratin’. (I was also kind of excited I didn’t have to take out the battery in my fire alarm as nothing was bakin’ yet. And it’s always exciting to use corn syrup as that’s one of those things that sits in my pantry all year long and hardly ever gets touched.)

I was kind of a rebel in that I did not use bread flour…and so that may have contributed to the lack of cookie-ness in the end. Or…maybe it was that my friend and I kept talking and not hearing the timer and I left the cookies in too long time and time again. (True confession: I didn’t actually know for SURE that you could bake with parchment on a tray until now. I was always afraid it would burn or something…and at first I was scared that I smelled melting wax.)

The ½-inch pieces also seemed a bit generous – but I listened and even got out a ruler to make sure…but they were so huge, they all globbed together on my first wax-paper-covered pan. Oops. So…Lacy Nut Cookies, they were not. But I think I ended up with an interesting brittle.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

