My First Annual (and Possibly Last and Only!) Fried Pickle Walking Tour of New York

A local daily newspaper has been kind enough to let me write about a dish that hails from my (brief) Mississippi roots — fried pickles. They are served at a number of BBQ joints here…but some places call them “frickles“…and I have a theory that it’s an urban marketing ploy and no self-respecting Southerner (or at least Mississippian) would actually call them that.

But…the editor is more interested in my quest to find a treasured childhood memory in this bustling metropolis. So…this weekend, I think I’m going to do LL’s First Annual (and Possibly Last and Only!) Fried Pickle Walking Tour of New York. I’ll definitely hit up Brother Jimmy’s (where they are, in fact, Frickles) and Heartland Brewery (where they are The Appetizer Formerly Known as Frickles). But I have to do a bit more research on other stops on the tour…

1 Comment

Filed under Mississippi

One response to “My First Annual (and Possibly Last and Only!) Fried Pickle Walking Tour of New York

  1. Nichelle

    Mara’s Homemade and Soho Park also have friend pickles!

Leave a Reply

