Make Your Own Tapenade

I found a recipe for tomato and tapenade tartlets (although, with all due respect to Ms. Greenspan, I will probably just make a tart…in part because I only have a tart pan…but also because it seems ridiculous to feed myself individual tartlets…although I do have tiny ramekins, so if I wanted to feed myself individual chocolate souffles, that would be a completely different story), but wasn’t able to find tapenade at the grocery store, so I decided I might as well just make that, too.

I don’t have a mortar and pestle (my biology teacher in the 9th grade [at a private school in Mississippi] told us once that when she taught at the *public* school, her mortars and pestles went missing because everyone was on drugs…and it’s one of those things that I have forever linked together in my head — mortars and pestles and my biology teacher. Kind of like I can’t think of Mariah Carey without also thinking of Derek Jeter…even though they dated a million years ago), but I assume I can just smush the olives and capers and stuff together in a bowl with the back of a spoon? And no one will be any wiser?

Leave a comment

Filed under olives, tarts

Leave a Reply

