Are You There, What? It’s Me, Who?

For the longest time, I have said that I feel like it’s my mission to write a collection of short stories…based loosely (or so I shall say) on my own experiences. And even though it is completely self-indulgent, I can’t help but feel the circumstances of my upbringing provided plenty of material to do so. It’s just a matter of, you know, getting over worries of alienating my family and then actually sitting down to write it. And so I have hemmed and hawed for a long time….

But when I was at a bookstore the other day, I happened to see Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea.

And I haven’t read it, so I can’t make any sort of sound judgment…but when I read the back cover, I couldn’t help but feel that this is definitely something I can do (albeit with a *slightly* different title…perhaps a fun spin on Superfudge?): “Welcome to Chelsea’s world — a place where absurdity reigns supreme and a quick wit is the best line of defense. In this hilarious, deliciously skewed collection, Chelsea mines her past for stories about her family, relationships, and career that are at once singular and ridiculous.”

And if there is one thing I know, it is absurdity or ridiculousness…

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

