Ol’ Irma’s Carrot Cake

A friend recently asked for my recipe for carrot cake, so I thought this was a prime opportunity to share it with the rest of the world, too.

However…when I looked in our family recipe book, I noticed that it says, “By Irma.” I have no idea who “Irma” is.

Nevertheless, I’m pretty sure this is the carrot cake my mom and aunt have been making since I was a kid:

2 c. sugar
3 eggs, beaten
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1/2 c. chopped nuts
4 oz. butter, softened
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. oil
2 c. flour
2 tsp. cinnamon
3 c. grated carrot
8 oz. cream cheese
1 lb. powdered sugar

Mix the sugar, oil and eggs together. Add the flour, soda, salt and cinnamon. Blend together until mixed well. Add the carrots and nuts. Pour into a greased 9X13″ pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes.

Blend together the softened butter and cream cheese until smooth. Gradually add the powdered sugar and vanilla. Frost the cake when it is cool.

And I think this is also a prime opportunity to give epicurious.com a shout-out. It has 24 carrot cake recipes to choose from if Irma’s doesn’t do it for you.

Happy baking, Electric Abs!

1 Comment

Filed under cake

One response to “Ol’ Irma’s Carrot Cake

  1. Bonnie Bauman

    Wow, this carrot cake recipe sounds delish! Can’t wait to try it! Thanks Lisa!

Leave a Reply

