Outstanding in the Field

There’s a corner of the kitchen in my “office” that is full of free stuff — mostly books, but sometimes also beauty products, plants or even clothes (I’ve seen two pairs of pants…and they went like hot cakes). I had never actually taken anything before because I’m awfully low on the totem poll (read: the very last rung) and I didn’t want to garner a rep as the intern with sticky fingers. But…I saw a cookbook and sort of kept my eye on it for a day or two. No one else took it…so *I* finally took it home with me last week. It’s Jim Denevan’s “Outstanding in the Field: A Farm to Table Cookbook.”

The topic is sort of related to my master’s project — the so-called “post-industrial food economy” (which may actually be a Michael Pollan term) and returning to the land to eat whole foods. I’ve only sort of flipped through the thing, but apparently Jim & Co. are from Santa Cruz, Calif. (go Banana Slugs!) and every summer they hop in a bus and tour the country and set up huge tables in fields and break bread with farmers and locals and the like. It seems like an interesting concept…and I’m especially intrigued by the desserts. So…as soon as I’m not crazy-busy anymore, I look forward to a leisurely read (which may actually coincide when the book actually goes on sale in June 2008).

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Outstanding in the Field

  1. Derek

    Hi Lacy,

    If you are interested in that cookbook, you might be interested in what Culinary School of the Rockies is doing. They are the first culinary school to offer a farm to table externship where the students will actually go to the farms and learn first-hand about this growing trend. If you want more information, check out their Web site at http://www.culinaryschoolrockies.com/farm-to-table/farm-to-table-experience.php
    or watch the videos about it at http://www.youtube.com/user/FarmToTable

Leave a Reply

