Why Did it Cross the Road?

I won’t bore you with what little I know about New York City and alternative food economies (although I *can* sound remarkably confident in my own abilities when I write…)…but I thought it was worth noting that I attended a Slow Food NYC event the other night for a story I’m writing for a class.

The subject? “The Urban Chicken and the City Bee.”

It just so happened that one of the panelists, an Irish chicken farmer who lives in Red Hook, was the subject of a NYT story way back when: In the Land of Co-ops, Coops.

This evening also doubled as a wine-tasting event…and served biodynamic cheese…which was kind of, err, crumbly.

(…but I don’t want to give away anything else as I still haven’t turned in my story…)

Leave a comment

Filed under cheese, chickens, Red Hook

Leave a Reply

