2008: Year of the Rat (and the Cake)

If 2007 was the year of the pie, I have decided 2008 will be the year of the cake — wedding cake, to be precise (at least through the end of March). I have friends who are getting married next month and they are having a reception in Brooklyn on March 29. So…I have ten weeks to conceptualize a cake, procure the necessary materials, bake it and transport it.

I’ve never really done anything like this before…especially in terms of size and scope (my Boston cream pie and my red velvet cake both turned out HUGE…but that was more of a happy accident)…although, then again, I don’t exactly know how many people will be at the reception, so perhaps a grandiose cake is unwarranted. I do know (or at least I’m pretty sure) that my friend was only half-joking when she suggested a 15-layer cake shaped like the Statue of Liberty or a to-scale replica of the Brooklyn Bridge with a marzipan body in the river and marzipan taxi cabs and tourists and cameras.

(My suggestion to do the hot pants cake from my “Naughty Cakes” book was promptly shot down.)

I recently saw the Jennifer Garner flick, “Catch and Release.” I was sort of hoping for mindless romantic comedy…and I’m not sure that’s what I got. It was okay, I guess…but I thought maybe it tried a little too hard to be deep and meaningful and some of it was ever-so-slightly hokey. But…there was a scene in which somebody opens the refrigerator and there is a wedding cake inside (that they never got to eat…sniff, sniff). Jennifer’s fiance had been quite an outdoorsman, so the cake had a decidedly outdoorsy feel — three layers with two pine trees up top and the bottom two layers covered in green and pine cones. I liked it. So…that’s sort of what I was thinking.

But, who knows…there’s a cake supply shop in the 20s and 6th Avenue or so…so that may be where I start (the perfect way to avoid working on my master’s project!).

Leave a comment

Filed under cake

Leave a Reply

