Happy Halloween!

Sadly, I did not have a costume this year (although, to be fair, I don’t think I had one last year either…Halloween is one of those things that I think is fun in theory, but I’m rarely brave enough to actually pull off in real life). I have so much on my plate now (no food pun intended)…I didn’t even bother to buy CANDY. So I was a little nervous I was going to get trick-or-treaters (although my street is sort of tucked away from the main drag, so perhaps the little guys don’t know to come here…?) and I wouldn’t have anything to give them. I *think* I have some Take 5s from last year tucked away in a pumpkin…how long does it take for stuff like that to go stale?

(Not that the NYT asked for my input here, but Take 5 would be my answer.)

I thought Tarantula Cookies looked really intriguing last year…but still haven’t gotten around to making them. (Halloween 2008, anyone??)

Hands down, my two *other* favorite fall-themed desserts:

Pumpkin Cheesecake (actually, my favorite isn’t this *exact* recipe, but I’m too lazy to type it in right this red, hot minute)…and…

Chocolate Coconut Pecan Tart.

One of my classmates had a potluck last weekend, so I brought both (as I have been talking about baking all semester and figured it was high time to put my money where my mouth is). I’m proud to report I think they went over well! So…I still recommend pumpkin bread pudding if you’re looking for a super-easy dessert for any of the upcoming holidays. But if you want something a little more fancy (and maybe a little different than the standard) you have my word you can’t go wrong with the above. And they’re both pretty much a cinch with a Cuisinart!

I also love this cheesecake!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

