It’s been awhile since I’ve had a good baking crisis…

Today I had a humdinger.

You may recall, today was the Fourth Annual Brooklyn Pie Social (complete with a *real* elephant…). I intended to make my pies yesterday…but ran out of time after class, etc., etc., so I ended up setting my alarm bright and early this morning. (When it first went off, I thought, “Oh, to hell with it…” but quickly realized how much I would regret it if I didn’t go…and I was right: I got a blue ribbon that says, “I baked a pie for the pie social” which totally makes up for annihilation in Orlando.)

And my pies have a tendency to leak (remember the Subway!). My aunt says you just have to add cornstarch…but she’s been doing this for so long, she can just eyeball it…and I’m reluctant to add cornstarch without some parameters. So…I just put foil on a pan and rest the pie plate on top. However, this morning the pie leaked an awful lot — so much so that it started burning and smoking and I had to remove the pan. But the pie was still leaking. So…quickly, I slid some Pyrex into the bottom of the oven. When it was finally time to take out the pie, I also removed the Pyrex. And I don’t quite know what I was thinking, but I saw all the goo in the pan and I thought, “I should put some water in here and let it soak so it doesn’t harden on there!” (It’s like tar.) So…what did I do? I held the pan under the faucet, turned it on…and it exploded into about a million pieces the instant the water hit it. There was glass everywhere. It was quite possibly one of the stupidest things I have done in recent memory…and now I’m afraid to walk around barefoot in my apartment (which I guess beats being barefoot and pregnant in Birmingham…which is where I am convinced I am going to end up now).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

