Day #2 of Unemployment

It wasn’t until late afternoon that my I-don’t-have-anything-to-do panic suddenly gave way to full-blown first-day-o’-school jitters and I began to think that perhaps having time off ain’t so bad and *maybe* I could actually get used to this. (Although, to be fair, I have thought about how I’m sure in a few short weeks I will look back upon these past few days and kick myself for not appreciating the time more.)

My horoscope, again, taunted me. The Daily News says:

“It’s time to be self-indulgent, Libra. Spoiling the most important person in life – you – is on the agenda. That doesn’t mean neglecting the other many responsibilities on your list, least of all those at work. It does, however, indicate there’s a need to have more balance in life. Book a massage, read a book, go for a walk, or just chill out with some private ‘you’ time.”

Now, the concept of massages freaks me out…but I can handle reading and walking. So…I headed up to the park with a book and just kind of wandered around and tried to breathe easy and appreciate everything. My favorite spot is the little pond with the miniature sailboats and the view of the apartment building where Pale Male and Lola have their nest(s?). (It’s probably because my mother is totally fascinated by Pale Male and she and my dad always spend a lot of time there when they visit…so I find it sort of indirectly comforting to spend time there myself.)

By the time I got home, it was time to roll up my sleeves and start baking again.

When I was at Fairway last night, my friend’s boyfriend kept joking about when I was going to make them a pie…and I said, sadly, that I don’t have anyone to bake for anymore and I believe his response was, “What am I, chopped liver?” and then I realized that maybe I *don’t* have to just bake for coworkers five days a week. *Maybe* I can make stuff for my friends, too! Perhaps my baking persona did not die on Friday along with my career in financial journalism!

It just so happens to be a friend’s birthday today (happy birthday to you!) and she requested chocolate, so I set out in search of a flourless chocolate cake recipe (they’re actually pretty easy) that doesn’t require a water bath. Both the Joy of Cooking and the New Best Recipe collection were out. But Epicurious happened to have this.

And then…after blogging about that coffee cake so recently, I decided to go ahead and make that one, too, as I am a little nervous about Thursday (I might have mentioned…) and I like to feed a feeling.

By that time, my apartment was a zillion degrees and I had to scoot to deliver the cake…and tomorrow there are errands and then, you know, my whole new life begins. (Yikes! But maybe sorta, kinda in a good way? I was making small talk at the birthday gathering and someone asked how I knew the birthday girl and I said that we used to work together at Dow Jones a hundred years ago [actually 18 months ago] and the person I was talking to said, “And you don’t work there anymore?” and I responded in the negative so I was asked, “Where do you work now?” and for the first time ever, I got to say, “I’m starting school on Thursday!” rather than “Oh, it’s a fund publication…I’m sure you’ve never heard of it.” That was mildly exhilarating.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

