The Apple Pie Bakery

One of the best things about visiting Wisconsin is getting to make pies with Auntie Jan. She’s the one who taught me pretty much everything I know about pie-making…so I took advantage of my time with her this weekend and we made an apple pie for my cousins’ birthday (yes, they’re twins). She’s pretty amazing – she doesn’t measure anything. (“That looks like about a cup…” and “That’s just about enough Crisco…”)

My aunt also had a 10-inch pie plate – it was the biggest I’d ever seen! And she recommended I use a Feemster’s Famous Vegetable Slicer when slicing my apples. And, being that she is my aunt and the most organized person in the entire world, she just so happened to have an extra Feemster’s Famous Vegetable Slicer in her cupboard and I got to take it home with me. She also gave me a large round Tupperware container that she says will make it super-easy to transport pies on the Subway. (I made out like a bandit!)

The added bonus this time was that my four year-old niece wanted to help out. And as she was stirring the sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg mixture (with just a little flour in for good measure to prevent any big leaks), she volunteered to open a bakery with me. She says we have to open it in Grafton though. And that we should call it The Apple Pie Bakery. We’re only planning to make six pies a day though, so I suppose our pies will be in very high demand.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

