Random Thoughts Galore!

So…I used to be completely obsessed with a candy bar – Take 5. It was quite literally one of the only things that would make me happy after a bad day at work sometimes (well…that or a stiff drink). I haven’t actually had many Take 5s (or “taken five” as we used to say at my old job) since moving on to the new one, but I was at CVS this weekend and saw a peanut butter version. And it was on sale. I couldn’t resist!

My verdict? Not bad…but the beauty of Take 5 is that it has a little bit of everything – pretzels, peanut butter, peanuts, caramel and chocolate. So, if you take away the chocolate…you lose a little something, methinks.

I have such fond memories of Take 5! I used to live in a horrible apartment in a horrible neighborhood with horrible (mostly) roommates…and we didn’t have TV. So…apparently there used to be a Take 5 commercial back then with a Take 5 jingle that one of my coworkers would sing to me on occasion. (He is the same coworker who would eat anything from the vending machines. Aww…)

And…I totally forgot about this until now! On 05/05/05, there was a Take 5 Giveaway…which was almost exactly two years ago now! (Aww…)

I also intended to make good on my key lime promise this weekend…and totally intended to blog about how I usually find recipes on epicurious.com, but there’s actually a key lime pie recipe in this cookbook my aunt compiled for me and my cousins a few Christmases ago (it’s actually called “Lisa’s Favorite Key Lime Pie” in this particular book) and so I was going to use that recipe…and since I don’t use a lot of “family” recipes, it was my intention to print it right here in this blog! But, unfortunately, I cannot find it…admittedly, my recipe collection is somewhat chaotic…but my parents are in town and so I did a LOT of cleaning this weekend…and yet I still cannot find the missing page from my recipe book. So…I may have to resort to epicurious.com again.

Speaking of visiting parents (the feint of heart are advised to skip ahead to the next paragraph), I really was cleaning a lot this weekend and decided to even attack behind my oven…and discovered a LOT of flour from my pie-making days. (Aww…)

And…there was a Saturday Night Live sketch this weekend with the two women from the Bronx who have a talk show and Amy Poehler was going on about how her daughter drank an entire bottle of creme de menthe and was “puking green all over the place.”

(If you recall, when *I* had to buy a bottle of creme de menthe, I could not find green and therefore my grasshopper pie was a strange color. Ergo, if I drank the whole bottle…)

(Interestingly enough, the host was Peyton Manning…who, if you also recall, was on the team I inadvertently supported during the bakeoff that started this entire blog…simply because there weren’t any other Colts fans around and I felt sorry for them.)

I also felt bad because I made peanut butter pies for my colleague, but didn’t bring whipped cream and they were kind of ugly without it (I offered him a free pie coupon this morning to make up for it)…and…my parents and I went to Peter Luger last night and I know I’m supposed to wax lyrical about the steak – which was certainly quite good, don’t get me wrong – but I also really, really liked the cheesecake! And – here’s my tie-in to the peanut butter pie sans whipped topping – when you order dessert there, they bring you a big ol‘ bowl of whipped cream. But they call it schlag.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

