Recipes, Recipes, Recipes

My new gym buddy requested nonfat bran muffins, so I was poking around on Cooking Light this morning and found two recipes that seem to fit the bill. She apparently prefers oat bran, but that recipe required too many ingredients like flaxseed that I don’t already have on hand, so she’s getting Double Apple Bran Muffins whether she likes it or not. Interestingly enough, the Double Apple Bran Muffin recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of turbinado sugar. I have never in my life heard of turbinado sugar, but a quick little Google search pulls up this from Sugar In The Raw: “Sugar In The Raw Premium Hawaiian Turbinado Sugar is made using 100% pure Hawaiian cane sugar from the initial pressing of the cane, allowing the natural molasses to remain in the crystals. The flavor is sweet and rich. The color is natural amber.”

If you do a little more poking around on the website, you find that there is actually a Sugar In The Raw Festival of Sweets.

And…on Friday I met a guy who really, really likes banana bread. I assured him that banana bread is super-easy to make and that I have a foolproof recipe at home. My philosophy? I like green bananas…and so banana bread is a great way to get rid of bananas once they have yellowed too much. However, when I looked through the cookbook of family recipes my aunt compiled four Christmases ago, I couldn’t find banana bread. I did find zucchini bread…and I *think* you can basically just substitute bananas for the zucchini.

Here she blows:

3 eggs
1 c. oil
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. nutmeg
2 c. raw, grated zucchini (or smushed-up bananas that are not green enough to eat anymore, if you so desire…)
2 c. sugar
2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking soda
3 tsp. cinnamon
3 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. chopped nuts, optional

Beat eggs; add sugar, oil and zucchini (or bananas!). Sift all ingredients together and add; mix well. (True confession? I never sift.) Add vanilla and nuts. Pour into 2 greased, floured loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes. Cool on racks 10 minutes, then remove from pans and cool completely.

And…my baby shower commissioner (making me the commissionee?) said his wife likes chocolate and Coke…so my mother dug up two cake recipes. There’s the Chocolate Coca-Cola Cake…and the Cola Cake.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

