I also missed…

This:

http://www.prweb.com/pingpr.php/RmFsdS1TcXVhLVBpZ2ctTG92ZS1NYWduLVplcm8=

(I got a free calendar from The Nature Conservancy though…so I can’t complain too much.)

And I had no idea there was a Please Pass the Pie Campaign to vote for official state pies! This, of course, means that I need to think of an official state pie for New York (I know, I know…time well spent). Vermont has already taken apple (which, if memory serves, was one of the trivia questions at the pie contest). But…picking apple for the Big Apple is too easy, isn’t it?

Hmm…I’m leaning toward chocolate cream…but I should probably have a better reason than “it was the first pie that came to mind.” (I’m trying to come up with something along the lines of…”the juxtaposition of black and white in this particular pie reflects a certain sophistication seen in the state itself.” THAT reminds me of a quote I saw recently while thumbing through an old yearbook. I went to school in Mississippi for a blip in time [What should the official state pie of 'Sippi be??]…and I went to a really small private school there. As such, the seniors got half a page each with their senior photo and baby pictures and a quote…and one of the quotes stood out to me this time. It’s a Dave Barry: “Here is a tip on how to get good grades on your English papers: never say anything about a book that anybody with any common sense would say. So, in your paper, you say Moby Dick is actually the Republic of Ireland. Your teacher, who is sick to death of reading papers and never liked Moby Dick anyway, will think you are enormously creative. If you can regularly come up with lunatic interpretations of simple stories, you should major in English.” This, of course, resonates with me on so many levels because I was an English major…and because I wrote Dave Barry in a moment of crisis when I was living in Fairbanks – his column was syndicated in the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner and I thought he had the perfect job – the ability to write about whatever you want on a daily basis…and he was kind enough to write me back about how “we all go through lean times.” So…my sophisticated chocolate cream pie logic sort of parallels Moby Dick and the Republic of Ireland, no?)

(It seems as if my “readership” has expanded by leaps and bounds as of late…so apologies if my tone was somewhat – ahem – stifled…as I’m a little nervous with all these new eyes on it…!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

